Greetings from West Virginia!

Greetings from my new home: the beautiful mountains of Morgantown, WV! Much has happened in my 3-month hiatus from Between the Ledger Lines.

I moved to Morgantown in mid-June to pursue my DMA at West Virginia University. I was in town for less than one week before I left for my summer festival in Kingston, PA. This summer marked my third year on the faculty of The Performing Arts Institute at Wyoming Seminary, a 6-week music festival for students ages 12-18. New responsibilities included coordinating the music theory department, being promoted to teaching Theory II, and serving as substitute flute teacher for the first week. I feel incredibly fortunate that I get to spend my summers performing, teaching theory, giving masterclasses and private flute lessons, and coaching chamber music. The students are always a pleasure to work with– they actually elect to spend their summers at a music festival! One unique aspect of this festival is the side-by-side learning experience. The faculty and college-aged counselors perform in all of the ensembles with the students. Each ensemble has a new conductor and program every week with performances every weekend. The repertoire was fantastic, as always– Dvorak 7, Copland Rodeo, Mahler 5 finale, Death and Transfiguration, Lt. Kije, The Planets, Tchaik 4, and a fully-staged production of Les Misérables. I definitely had plenty of opportunity to get my orchestral chops back in shape before starting school again!

Image

With my wonderful students: Mahler 5 flute section.

I am now in week 4 of my graduate classes at West Virginia University. I am very excited to be studying with my new teacher, Nina Assimakopoulos. In addition to my flute studies, I am doing a repertoire/pedagogy project, performing with the orchestra, and taking a doctoral seminar on the music of Hector Berlioz. The orchestra will be going on tour in January to perform at the College Orchestra Directors Association conference in Fort Worth, TX– repertoire is Beethoven 1 and Tchaik 6. My repertoire/pedagogy course has morphed into a publishing project, much of which I will be documenting here. On top of my coursework, I am also preparing for several competitions this fall.

Exciting things are happening, and some incredible opportunities are coming up, so stay tuned!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

