Program Notes Database Project

Hello from Connecticut, and Happy Holidays!

A new project that I will be starting on Between the Ledger Lines is a Program Notes database. As part of my flute lessons every semester, I must assemble a portfolio of lesson notes, practice logs, a press packet, and program notes for my current repertoire. Writing program notes can be a time consuming and tedious task, so I will be sharing my research from each semester here. I will include my finished product along with links to my sources and some of my favorite recordings. This also helps me in that I have an easily accessible back-up of my program notes! I must confess I got this idea from Fenwick Smith, who has meticulously chronicled his past recital programs and included program notes for many of the performances listed.

In the coming months, keep an eye out for program notes on the Poulenc Sonata, Griffes Poem, Hindemith Sonata, Villa Lobos Bachianas Brazileiras No. 6, and Dring Trio. These works will be featured on my first DMA recital at West Virginia University on March 29, 2014.

Leave a Reply

